National Merit Scholarship Program

THREE Judge Memorial Catholic High School Students Honored in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program

Congratulations Gwendolyn Orme and Christopher Clyne 2019 National Merit Finalist!

2019 National Merit Scholarship Competition

The National Merit ®  Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test  (PSAT/NMSQT ® ) —which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.6 million entrants each year—and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements.

To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship, Semifinalists had to fulfill requirements to advance to Finalist standing which included writing an essay and providing information about extracurricular activities, awards, and leadership positions. Semifinalists also had to have an outstanding academic record, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, and earn SAT® scores that confirmed their qualifying test performance. From the Semifinalist group, some 15,000 met Finalist requirements. For the 2019 competition, about 7,500 Finalists have been selected to receive National Merit Scholarships totaling over $30 million. Winners are the Finalist candidates judged to have the strongest combination of academic skills and achievements, extracurricular accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.


Congratulations to all these outstanding individuals!

For more information about the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, please visit 

Judge Memorial Catholic High School National Merit Honorees
2018-2019: Gwendolyn Orem, Christopher Clyne, Skye Fredericks 
2017-2018: Eric Hall, Alexander Junkins, Logan Seat
2016-2017: Victoria Stevens 
2015-2016:  Alysa Bradbury, Mila Sherman
2014-2015:  Ian Gorrell-Brown,  Erin Malooly, Christopher Payne, Saylor Soinski
2013-2014: Ally Dugan, Anne Holt
2012-2013: Emily Murnin
2011-2012: Erin Dugan
2010-2011: Matthew Pell, Brian Willhard
2009-2010: Meghan Brockmeyer, Craig Domeier, Jennifer Gardner, Isabelle Ghabash, Michael Hanover, Parker Mildenhall, Marissa Novak
2008-2009: Dane Brodke, Christopher Pell, Salt Lake City, Seth Zost
2007-2008: Noel Hollingsworth, Kaitlyn Kelley, Shauna Lee, Maggie Wu