A Brief History of Judge
Since 1921, Judge Memorial Catholic High School has provided an outstanding educational experience, firmly rooted in the Catholic tradition, to students and their families. For now almost 100 years, the faculty, staff, students, parents, families and alumni of Judge Memorial have fostered and sustained a school of excellence.
The school building was originally Judge Mercy Home, a hospital established for the population of Catholic coal miners working in Park City who suffered from Black Lung. As the need for a hospital dedicated to this cause subsided, Mary Judge, (who was, along with her deceased husband John, the benefactor of the hospital), expressed her wishes to the bishop of the Diocese of Salt Lake to reopen the medical facility as a school. Mary Judge passed away before the diocese opened the doors of the new school.
Until 1929 the school was known as Cathedral High School and Catholic Grammar School. Bishop John J. Mitty changed the name to Judge Memorial School in 1929. Run by the beloved Sisters of the Congregation of the Holy Cross, Judge Memorial was co-ed until 1964, after Bishop Joseph Lennox Federal brought in the Oblates of Saint Francis de Sales to run it as an all-boys school. At this time, girls attended St. Mary of the Wasatch Academy. In 1970, St. Mary closed and girls once again joined the boys at Judge. That same year, the school added the word "Catholic" to its name.
With the present-day guidance of a committed administration, faculty, and staff; the school continues to build upon the legacy of Catholic education started by Mary Judge and continued over the years by all members of the Judge community.